The European Commission and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe are proud to announce the 40 works selected for the European Union Award for Contemporary – Mies van der Rohe. The Jury – composed by Dorte Mandrup, George Arbid, Angelika Fitz, Ştefan Ghenciulescu, Kamiel Klaasse, María Langarita and Frank McDonald – met for three days in Barcelona to discuss the most relevant challenges facing contemporary European society and its architecture.

In the selection of 40, Culture is the most represented program with 15 works (museums, cultural centres, music theatresand an auditorium/congress centre). There are 6 Education buildings (schools, university buildings and libraries); 5 Collective housing works; 3 Mixed use constructions; 2 Industrial centers and 2 Single houses; and 1 Health, 1 Infrastructure, 1 Office, 1 Social welfare, 1 Sport & Leisure, and 1 Urban Planning works.

Among the 17 previously shortlisted projects built in Italy only two have been selected for the final shortlist of the EU Mies Award 2019: M9 Museum District by and the by .

District ©AlessandraChemollo

Prada Headquarter by Canali Associati ©Alesando Ciampi

383 works were nominated for the EU Mies Award 2019 and the jury of experts drafted the final list. The 40 selected works are:

ProjectArchitecture Firm
Skanderbeg Square51N4E, Plant en Houtgoed, Anri Sala, iRI
House of Music InnsbruckErich Strolz, Dietrich | Untertrifaller Architekten
Aspern Federal Schoolfasch&fuchs.architekten
Performative Brise- SoleilStudioVlayStreeruwitz ZT-GMBH
Residential care center KAPELLEVELDarchitecten de vylder vinck taillieu
PC CARITASarchitecten de vylder vinck taillieu
Ryhove Urban FactoryTrans
De Krook libraryCoussée & Goris architecten, RCR Arquitectes
Residential and studio building at the former Berlin flower marketIfau, HEIDE & VON BECKERATH
Terracehouse BerlinBrandlhuber+ Emde, Burlon, Muck Petzet Architekten
Streetmekka ViborgEFFEKT
Hammershus Visitors CentreArkitema Architects, Christoffer Harlang
LEGO HouseBIG – Bjarke Ingels Group
Arvo Pärt centreNieto Sobejano Arquitectos
Life Reusing Posidonia/ 14 social dwellings  in FormenteraIBAVI
Civic Centre Lleialtat SantsencaHARQUITECTES
Plasencia Auditorium and Congress Centreselgascano
Solo HouseOFFICE Kersten Geers David Van Severen
Helsinki Central Library OodiALA Architects Ltd.
The Perret Hall – Cultural CentreAtelier d'architecture Pierre Hebbelinck, HBAAT – HELEEN HART — MATHIEU BERTELOOT
Museum of Arts, NantesStanton Williams Architects
E26 (school refectory)BAST 
‘Théodore Gouvy' Theatre in Freyming-MerlebachDominique Coulon et associés
Transformation of 530 dwellings – Grand Parc BordeauxFrédéric Druot Architecture, Lacaton & Vassal architectes, Christophe Hutin Architecture
Lafayette AnticipationsO.M.A.
St. Mary's Medieval Mile MuseumMcCullough Mulvin Architects
14 Henrietta StreetShaffrey Architects
M9 Museum DistrictSauerbruch Hutton
Prada productive headquarterCanali associati s.r.l.
Musis Sacrumvan Dongen – Koschuch Architects and Planners.
Visitor center park VijversburgSTUDIO MAKS with the collaboration of Junya Ishigami & Ass.
Silesia University's Radio and Television departmentBAAS arquitectura, Grupa 5 Architekci, Małeccy Biuro Projektowe
Lisbon Cruise TerminalCarrilho da Graça
Headquarters of architects of Romania. Bucharest branchSTARH – Birou de arhitectura (Florian & Iulia Stanciu)
Occidentului 40ADN Birou de Arhitectura
Reconstruction of Museum of Contemporary Art, Belgradenooto, Dejan Todorović architect
Adaptation of the former factory MlynicaGutGut

Discover here all the projects shortlisted at EU Mies Award 2019.